**DUE TO COVID-19, OUR AMMUNITION AVAILABILITY HAS BEEN LIMITED SO PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A HANDGUN AND 50 ROUNDS OF AMMUNITION FOR THE LICENSE TO CARRY CLASS.
License To Carry Frequently Asked Questions
Q: How much does The Gun Range offer the LTC course for?
A: $85 for classroom instruction and range proficiency
Q: What does the classroom instruction teach?
A: Concealed carry laws, where you can carry and where you cannot, when you can use force or deadly force, the legal implications of use of force or deadly force, Texas weapons laws, nonviolent dispute resolution, and firearms safety.
Q: What does the range proficiency consist of?
A: 3 yards – 20 rounds fired, 7 yards – 20 rounds fired, 15 yards – 10 rounds fired. The Texas LTC range proficiency passing score is 175 points out of 250 points or a score of 70%.
Q: Is there a time limit in the range proficiency test?
A: Yes. Each stage is broken down as follows:
At 3 Yards: Five shots fired in a “one shot exercise” with 2 second allowed for each. Ten shots fired in a “two shot exercise” with 3 seconds allowed for each two shots sequences. The last five shots are fired within 10 seconds. Total of 20 rounds.
At 7 Yards: Five shots fired within 10 seconds. Two shots fired within 4 seconds. Three shots fired within 6 seconds. Five shots fired in a “one shot exercise” with 3 seconds allowed for each shot. The last five shots are fired within 15 seconds. Total of 20 rounds.
At 15 Yards: Two shots fired within 6 seconds. Three shots fired within 9 seconds. The last five shots fired within 15 seconds. Total of 10 rounds.
Q: How long is the course?
A: The course can take anywhere from 5 to 8 hours depending on the size of the class.
Q: What do I need in order to attend?
A: A valid Driver’s License or State ID (must be a legal resident in the state of Texas for the preceding six months prior to class, or eligible for a license as a non-resident under Section 411.173a), a pen/pencil, and paper. Handguns, hearing and eye protection, and 50 rounds of ammunition are required; however, we do offer rentals and ammunition to purchase at our range.
Q: What else do I need in order to get my LTC?
A: You will need to make an appointment to get your finger prints done ($10) as well as pay the state of Texas their processing fee ($40 for most, $0 for active duty military). All that is done here:
Q: Can I take the course if I have never fired a handgun?
A: Yes, however, it is not recommended. This course is not a “how-to-shoot” class. It is expected that the student has already achieved a minimum safe level of proficiency with their handgun, including loading, unloading, slide or cylinder manipulation, proper use of safety devices, and operational controls. During the range proficiency test, students will be expected to be safe while handling their firearms. Students who cannot meet these standards will fail the proficiency test and will need to retest at later date. Prospective students who have little handgun experience are encouraged to visit the range prior to class and take a 30 Minute Handgun Coaching Session offered at our facility for $45.
Q: Once I submit everything for my LTC, how long will it take to get mailed to me?
A: DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing.
Q: How often does The Gun Range offer LTC classes?
A: We offer courses at least five to six times a month.
Q: How do I reserve a spot for the class at The Gun Range?
A: You must pay the $85 and register for the class by walking in or signing up on our website here:
Q: Does The Gun Range know where I can take the online portion for my LTC class?
A: Yes, The Gun Range has an affiliate partner to provide this service. Come see us to sign up for the range instruction and proficiency qualification (or you can sign up for the shoot only online here to finish out the required training for your LTC. See the link below to go to our partner site for the online portion.
Link for LTC online:
Mailing address for DPS Regulatory Services:
Regulatory Services Division MSC 0245
Texas Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 15888
Austin, Texas 78761-5888
For any questions/concerns after you pass your LTC, please contact Texas DPS at: 512.424.7293